Firstly, to introduce myself…

Well hello there.

For those who don’t know me, my name is Ellie, and I have decided to start a new blog. But that much is obvious.

This September, I started my year as a Charityworks Graduate Trainee. Charityworks is a scheme designed to encourage talent in the voluntary sector, and give graduates a way in. Not sure about the talent bit, but my way in has been through my new job as Research Officer at the National Association for Voluntary and Community Action (NAVCA).

I’ll forgive you if you’ve not heard of NAVCA. We’re a membership organisation for membership organisations (one of my friends described it as Charity ‘Inception‘). Our members are sometimes called Councils for Voluntary Service, sometimes Voluntary Action, sometimes something completely different. But they broadly fall under the category of local infrastructure organisations. You and I will learn what this means in the coming weeks.

Everything here will be my views, not those of either NAVCA or Charityworks. Apologies in advance for the lack of coherence.

I’ll be posting a range of things here, regarding research, infrastructure, services, and probably some ramblings about Godzilla and football, just for good measure. But for now I’ll sign off and get back to work. Enjoy!

396635_10150481658036542_1081357128_n

Leave a Reply

